When to Use Server Snapshots


Introduction

Cloud Server Snapshots is a useful feature, which enables you to retain the equivalent of a custom Base Image that is linked to your account. Cloud Server Snapshots enables you to have templates or a golden snapshot for future use. You can then use the snapshot to easily restore a Cloud Server to a known working configuration or to rapidly deploy additional Cloud Servers with an identical configuration.

Considerations for Cloud Server Snapshots

Snapshots created by Cloud Server Snapshots have the following qualities:

  • Are not automatically verified upon creation, which means that if you plan to use them as a backup or template, you should first build a Cloud Server with the snapshot to ensure you achieve expected and satisfactory results.

  • Are tied to the same region as the Cloud Server they are created from, so you cannot use a snapshot from us-central-1 to build a Cloud Server in us-central-2.

  • Are great for storing static configurations and applications, but they are not reliable for backing up dynamic information such as a database. To ensure that the best snapshot is created, we recommend that you stop such dynamic applications temporarily or shut the Cloud Server down before creating your snapshot.

  • Can take anywhere from a few minutes to several hours to create, depending on the amount of data on the physical host that must be collected. The larger your Cloud Server’s data footprint, the longer it will take to complete the snapshot.

Note: If you take a snapshot of a Microsoft® Windows® Cloud Server that is set to be a Domain Controller, you cannot restore the Cloud Server with that image. This is because our system maintains a reliance on the local Administrator account to perform specific tasks during build.

Note
If you take a snapshot of a Cloud Server, only the server's local disk will have it's data stored in the Snapshot (ie C:\ or /dev/xvda). Additional data from Block Storage volume's which are attached to the Cloud Server will not be included in the Snapshot as each volume must instead have it's own individual Snapshot taken.

Related Content